Aside

This weekend I celebrated two holidays:  Mother’s Day and my Bachelor’s in Nursing graduation, so Brad and I made a “Tour de Mother’s Day” and drove to Arlington (its in the DFW area) on Saturday for the festivities.

I don’t know why but especially when I am out of Austin, I feel the need to Yelp/Google if there are any gluten-free bakeries.  It just seems a waste of travel if I don’t find something new.  My travels this time led me to I Heart Muffins in Hurst.  It said “dedicated gluten free bakery” on the Facebook page, but I still felt the need to verify this by email before trekking across the Metroplex.  Sure enough, its really dedicated. LOL.

We made it there about an hour before close so picking were kind of slim but PLENTY more than I could get anywhere normal.

Image

These were my goodies for the day (from 12 o’clock):  Apple Cinammon Muffin, Peanut Butter Cookie, and SNICKERS CAKE!!  I promptly ate the cake in store and Brad ate the cookie after I got a bite.  The cake was DELICIOUS and gooey and worth the drive.  I saved my Apple Cinammon Muffin for the next morning, but it was equally enjoyable with little pieces of apple and just the right amount of cinnamon, not too overpowering.  For those that live in the DFW area, the bakery even makes loaves of gluten-free bread.  I asked about shipping the bread but that wasn’t available yet.

The rest of the afternoon preceding the graduation was pretty comical:  we couldn’t check into our hotel until 3 (graduation was at 4), Brad had to buy a new shirt at Jos A Bank since his was wrinkled and we had nowhere to iron it and a new pair of jeans since apparently our terrible cat Barf peed on them when he was laying his clothes out at the house.   I ended up getting dressed in Jos A Bank and putting my makeup on in the car.

Finally, we made it safe and sound to College Park Center at UTA and I got to the staging area for all of us RN-BSN bridging students.  It was quite interesting to graduate with a class of 400+ people whom I had never met due to the online setup of classes.  I made friends with my neighbors and we discussed the best/worst classes, where we were all from and our future plans in nursing.

Image

This is my double Maverick face: my BSN is my second degree from UTA 🙂

I was quite impressed with the changes the University of Texas at Arlington has made to their campus in hopes of becoming a Tier One school.  College Park Center was amazing with the Jumbotron and stadium style seating.  Brad was even able to find a bar to kill time at on campus.

We hit the road back the next morning to see both of our moms.  My mom and grandma are in Waco and requested we bring them kolaches from Czech Stop in West on the way home.  This is probably the gluten-free person’s nightmare:  smell of sweet dough rising, all kinds of kolache from cherry to sausage ones and cupcakes too.   I don’t know why but sometimes I ask Brad to let me smell his glutenous eats.  Maybe it seems like I have eaten it through my nose. Or I’m a masochist.  I think it just makes me feel like I am participating in normal eating.  I was very glad at this point I had saved my apple cinnamon muffin, because while Brad devoured his hot chubbie with cheese, I wasn’t giving him dirty stares.  For those without allergies or intolerances, it is a CRIME to go through West, Texas on IH-35 and not stop.

We scooped the treats up  (along with a fruit plate for me from Walmart) and enjoyed some conversation with the family for a couple hours before heading to see Brad’s mom/Spurs game.

My weekend reminded me of this quote by Gordon B. Hinckley:

“Anyone who imagines that bliss is normal is going to waste a lot of time running around shouting that he’s been robbed. The fact is that most putts don’t drop, most beef is tough, most children grow up to just be people, most successful marriages require a high degree of mutual toleration, most jobs are more often dull than otherwise. Life is like an old time rail journey…delays…sidetracks, smoke, dust, cinders and jolts, interspersed only occasionally by beautiful vistas and thrilling burst of speed. The trick is to thank the Lord for letting you have the ride.”

My weekend didn’t project to be a blissful one, but Brad and I laughed through the delays and silly mishaps, ie. cat pee. After all, it’s not everyday that you get to graduate with the largest nursing graduating class ever from UTA.  🙂

double maverick

2 responses »

  1. Congratulations on graduating! And on finding Snickers cake; that looks amaaaazing and I never even thought to combine Snickers with cake before. Must try soon. (Though I guess chocolate technically isn’t caffeine-free…don’t think I’m going to take the regimen that far though. Some things are too important!)

Leave a Reply

