gluten-free cowpies

Standard

I love KIND bars.  I eat two a day when I am working: one for breakfast and one for a 3 p.m. snack during my 12-hour days.  I have found a Nature Valley brand that I like that is about $4 a box for six.  I still find myself wanting a cereal bar at work though and that’s where Brad’s purchase of a “Mexican KIND bar” comes in. 

One of the gas stations near the house has these double-sized nut bars AKA palanqueta mixta.  The ingredients read: sugar, raisins, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds and corn syrup.   I thought that sounded easy and I could throw something together and make my own cereal bar with some Honey Nut Chex, peanuts and chocolate chips.

Putting the bars together wasn’t bad, I just mixed the ingredients with corn syrup and sugar and pressed them down into the pan, stuck them in the freezer to solidify.   I couldn’t decide what to do with the chocolate and wanted to try and do a chocolate covered bottom of the bar.  Melting the chocolate chips was tricky and maybe the heat from the oven started melting my corn syrup, but everything got messy quickly.

What I’m left with is two “bars” with chocolate on the bottom, a few that I tried to make into a Chex candy bar of sorts and some small pieces I just tried to get chocolatey.   The chocolate started to get too thick and what is left now looks like a giant turd in my pan.  Ahh…well the surviving bars/pieces are now in the fridge to cool.  My “cowpies” have to be tasty–how can sugar not taste good? 🙂  Even if they are ugly.  And look like poop.

Image

 

Here’s what I used if you want to attempt this (and probably do it better):

2 cups of Gluten-Free Honey Nut Chex

2/3 cup chopped peanuts

1 tsp sugar

1.5 cups of Karo corn syrup

1 bag semi sweet chocolate chips (although after the turd incident I think that maybe the large bricks of melting chocolate would work better)

Mix the corn syrup, Chex and peanuts together and add sugar.  Press down firmly into 11×7 baking pan and flatten out.  Place in fridge or freezer to harden at least two hours.  I put mine in the freezer. 

Take out hardened mix and cut into bars.  Start chocolate chips or baking chocolate in medium pan, stirring constantly to prevent burning.  You can coat the entire bottom of the bar or coat entirely for a candy bar sort of feel.

Any suggestions to the recipe would be awesome!!

 

2 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness, those are a bit ugly, but I bet they tasted really good. I love Honey Nut Chex. No good suggestions here except that maybe if they were cut into squares and spread a little more neatly with the chocolate they’d look prettier? Who cares, though, as long as they’re tasty?

    Not that this would make the bars look any nicer, but is there any way to work peanut butter into this mess? Mmmm! 🙂

Leave a Reply

