inspired by allergies

Standard

My allergies have been acting up lately (thanks Austin “Allergy Capital of the World”) and as a result I have lost my voice/sound like a 12-year-old boy going through puberty.   I really really REALLY wanted some chicken noodle soup but last time I paid $4 for the pre-canned gluten free chicken noodle soup. For. One. Can.

Brad gave me the stink eye when I told him how much that one can of soup cost and told me I should make my own.  I had most of the spices at home and some frozen tenderloins in the fridge, so a quick trip to the store for veggies, broth and crackers was all it took.

I asked my mom for some suggestions on the spices and she suggested the chili powder.  “Have you ever seen a Mexican with a cold?” she says.   In my line of work (nursing), yes, but I am ignoring that for now.   Considering she lives in the Rio Grande Valley in Texas AKA the border, I think there is probably some truth to her words.  I don’t think you can get a cold when your nose is constantly being cleared out by spicy delicious food.

Anyway, point is, this is my attempt at some homemade chicken noodle soup that is gluten free.

Image

Melinda’s Gluten Free Chicken Noodle Soup (inspired by allergies)  

1 lb of boneless chicken tenderloins

2/3 of each carrot and celery sticks, cut into small pieces (as many as you like in your soup)

2–Organic Free Range Chicken Broth 32 oz box (I used Pacific because it actually says gluten free on it)

¼ lb Gluten-free noodles, I used some leftover Schar spaghetti

1/2 tsp of garlic powder

2 tsp dried parsley

2 tsp chopped onion

2 pinch of pepper

1 tsp of chili powder

½ tsp of salt  (for broth)

Directions:

  1. Boil the chicken with ¼ tsp of salt and water, then shred or cube chicken to your liking for the soup.
  2. Cut carrot and celery sticks into smaller pieces for soup. I bought the pre-cut into sticks since I don’t really eat celery otherwise.
  3. Start boiling the entire amount of chicken broth and add seasonings, veggies, shredded chicken to the broth and simmer for about 30 minutes.
  4. Cook the noodles separately.
  5. Add the noodles to the soup and simmer for another 10 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

