my baking breakdown

Standard

I want a cookie, or a brownie or some cake!! I don’t really care which, just something sweet to eat since starting this gluten-free experiment. Yogurt does not count.

So I found some cool recipes on blogs I follow and headed to Sprouts Farmer’s Market for the ingredients. I decided to try and make the Twix bars gluten-free style. Shortbread cookies, the special flour, it all started to add up quickly in price. Why the hell is brownie mix $8???? And I can’t afford a $25 dessert. I suppose those who have to do this always make one special dessert a month?? I don’t know.

I could feel the tears welling up but I pushed them back and turned in circles on the gluten-free/baking aisle, cursing gluten and the prices. I debated leaving with nothing but I really needed a treat.

I decided on some plain brownie mix, chocolate chips and some Reese’s peanut butter cups/pecans to chop up for flavor.

The actual breakdown happened when I called my mom to tell her about my dismay.  I am pretty sure she could hardly understand what I was saying, “glutenSOBexpensiveSOBstupid.”  That is what I would guess it sounded like.  And like a good mom, she reminded me this could be temporary and hopefully a short period of time will help me feel better and I can go back to normal.

I was directed to do this diet for six weeks and so far it’s working  (no “bathroom sickness” or bloating). I don’t know if I am more upset because the special flour is $8 or if it’s because I could have to eat like this forever. I know I am being a weenie, and seriously God bless people who have to eat gluten-free indefinitely.

I got some more labs today that are somewhat sensitive for Celiac and will go from there. (I can’t afford the tTg or whatever it’s called with my deductible). Here’s to good lab results and yummy brownies tonight.

image

About mellieann85

I'm a six-foot tall blonde nurse living in Austin with my boyfriend and enjoying all that life has to offer. I enjoy cooking, shopping and trying new things. My blog is about just that...my daily life (there are 86,400 seconds in a day) and trying to live each one of those seconds to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

