i’m keeping my joy

Standard

While at work this past Sunday, one of my patients was watching the Sunday message by Joel Osteen.  I’m not big on televangelism but he is one of the ones I can listen to and get something from.  His message was to not give away your joy to the constant barrage of distractions, irritations, problems and small pitfalls that are sure to come our way in life.

This particular message hit home with me and gave me chills.  Especially in a career like nursing, it is easy to become frustrated and angry with the little setbacks that occur daily.  For example, medications aren’t stocked where/when they should be, getting an admission 10 minutes before shift change, constant phone calls about anything and everything.  My constant struggle in nursing has been to remain calm and cool, anxiety-free as possible during the day.

It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that a nurse who is angry can’t provide the best care possible.  I took his message to heart: to let the little things roll off my back and try to just chalk it up to life.   Breathing deeply and even mentally saying “it’s okay” seem to help diffuse the anger/anxiety and make my life/shift so much easier.

This is definitely one of those easier said than done things that needs continual practice.  It also reminded me of when I used to wait tables during college,  my mantra then was “don’t let Cracker Barrel take your smile away!!”  Life will always be stressful, it’s a given, but how we respond to stress will decide our own happiness.  I would rather keep the key to happiness in my own hands, instead of letting the world decide my fate.

So the next time a car cuts you off in traffic and you are about to utter some type of expletive, take a deep breath and remind yourself: it’s not worth losing my joy over a red Honda cutting me off.  (That may or may not have happened to me this morning).

 

Check out his sermon #563 Don’t Give Away Your Joy at http://ww2.joelosteen.com/Broadcast/Pages/ThisWeeksMessage.aspx.

About mellieann85

I'm a six-foot tall blonde nurse living in Austin with my boyfriend and enjoying all that life has to offer. I enjoy cooking, shopping and trying new things. My blog is about just that...my daily life (there are 86,400 seconds in a day) and trying to live each one of those seconds to the fullest.

One response »

Leave a Reply

