cat scratch fever

Standard

My boyfriend and I decided to go mattress shopping last weekend because our current mattress is horrid.  It’s a hand-me-down of a hand me down and I usually end up sleeping on the couch because the bed is too small for two six-foot-tall people.

The hunt began at the typical chain mattress stores and eventually we found a winner at a local mattress store, Factory Mattress USA.  I can’t wait to sleep on our new Simmons Beautyrest Classic firm with pillowtop. Sounds way fancier than it is.  The foam mattresses are crazy expensive, try in the $4000 range.  Either way, It’s the first *new* bed either of us has ever bought and I am excited.

Which brings me to the entire point of this blog—our cat, Barf.  She loves to claw at the corners of the current horrid mattress and tear it up.  I am paranoid she is going to destroy our gorgeous new purchase with her claws.  We had some cardboard lying around and I decided I could probably be crafty(ish).

I found this blog (which is an awesome craft idea source if you’re bored):  http://m.designsponge.com/2009/01/diy-project-recycled-cardboard-kitty-pad.html and decided to give it a try.

Mine did not come out as pretty, but Barf rubbed all over the surface of the scratching pad and pushed it across the room.  No scratching yet, but I am hopeful with the catnip inside.  Hopefully the bedskirt will deter her also….

Images

One response »

Leave a Reply

